[IRP] NOMINATIONS: 09 elections of IRP steering committee

Rafik Dammak rafik.dammak
Thu Nov 12 05:29:13 EET 2009


yes I want to continue :)


2009/11/12 Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com>

> @current Steering Committee members (besides Shaila) please indicate to me
> whether you want to continue or not!
> Hi everybody
> I have just received a note that Lauren Movius is also interested to be a
> candidate for the Steering Committee.
> The #$%!& wiki has been hacked again.... So I have started a g-doc (which
> all of you can add/edit) to keep track of all the candidates @
> https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AeybA8_Lt-gwYWpjczg2cDlkeDJzXzM0Z21ocnJmY3o&hl=de
> We have already 11 candidates now (not counting current committee members
> who might also want to stay), so we might be able to do the hand-over during
> the IGF....
> Let's see how things unfold
> Max
> On Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 11:42 AM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:
>>  Hi everybody
>> Sometime it can be enlightening to review your very own documents. I just
>> had a look into our IRP charter and it clarified a number of things:
>> a) steering committee members serve a one or two year term, so we'll have
>> to see who from the current (transition - remember the merger) committee
>> wants to stay on. Could the current members please indicate whether they
>> would continue or not?
>> b) the chair is elected/selected by the steering committee
>> quite a good charter by the way :-)
>> http://internetrightsandprinciples.org/node/9
>> So far the following folks have been nominated:
>> Lisa Horner  (accepted nomination)
>> Robert Brodle (accepted)
>> Matthias Ketteman
>> Marianne Franklin (accepted nomination)
>> Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
>> Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
>> Max Senges (wants to see the coalition evolve and will not run for chair)
>> Don't be shy nominate yourself or folks you believe will do a good job!
>> I would like to add Mr. Lee Hibbart and Thomas Schneider to the nominees
>> Best
>> Max
>> On Sun, Nov 8, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:
>>> Hello fellow IRPlers
>>> As I have raised several times now, our Charter states that we shall
>>> elect a new chair and steering committee every IGF, and I would like to
>>> start the deliberations about the how / when and who.
>>> My suggestion would be that we use the time before and during the IGF to
>>> identify good candidates and then hold the elections right after. Ideally we
>>> would have had a elections just before and a hand-over during the IGF and I
>>> apologize for not organizing affairs in that way. Anyway, I think the above
>>> process can work really well.
>>> First of all I want to thank everybody who participated in the steering
>>> committee so far. It has been a pleasure working with you and I would
>>> recommend all of you as members of the new steering group. So I suggest we
>>> consider everybody who is currently on the steering committee as a nominee
>>> for next year (I will check in with you individually whether you are still
>>> available for the role).
>>> To kick things off, I looked through our archives and would like to
>>> nominate some colleagues who don't have a formal role now, but have
>>> contributed substantially to the success of our coalition:
>>> Lisa Horner
>>> Robert Brodle
>>> Matthias Ketteman
>>> Marianne Franklin
>>> Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
>>> Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
>>> This list is really just meant to get us started, please nominate people
>>> you think would be good custodians and drivers of our coalition.
>>> As for me, I will happily keep working in the coalition's steering
>>> committee, should I receive sufficient support.
>>> Looking forward to seeing this election unfold
>>> Max
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091112/d4415a2c/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list