[IRP] NOMINATIONS: 09 elections of IRP steering committee

Matthias C. Kettemann matthias.kettemann
Thu Nov 12 08:54:26 EET 2009

Dear Max, dear IRPlers,

I am glad to accept the nomination, but would like to stress that I have 
currently only a limited time budget as I am concurently doing a 
graduate degree at Harvard Law School and finishing my Doctor juris in 

Unfortunately, I won't be able to make it to Egypt, but will participate 
online, as time permits.

Kind regards


Matthias C. Kettemann
Harvard LL.M. Class of 2010

29 Garden St, Apt # 604
Cambridge, MA 02138, USA

M | +1 617 229 9015
E | mkettemann at llm10.law.harvard.edu
Skype | matthiaskettemann
FlickR | http://www.flickr.com/photos/mckettemann
Facebook | http://www.facebook.com/matthias.kettemann

Max Senges schrieb:
> @current Steering Committee members (besides Shaila) please indicate 
> to me whether you want to continue or not!
> Hi everybody
> I have just received a note that Lauren Movius is also interested to 
> be a candidate for the Steering Committee.
> The #$%!& wiki has been hacked again.... So I have started a g-doc 
> (which all of you can add/edit) to keep track of all the candidates @ 
> https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AeybA8_Lt-gwYWpjczg2cDlkeDJzXzM0Z21ocnJmY3o&hl=de 
> <https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AeybA8_Lt-gwYWpjczg2cDlkeDJzXzM0Z21ocnJmY3o&hl=de>
> We have already 11 candidates now (not counting current committee 
> members who might also want to stay), so we might be able to do the 
> hand-over during the IGF....
> Let's see how things unfold
> Max
> On Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 11:42 AM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com 
> <mailto:maxsenges at gmail.com>> wrote:
>     Hi everybody
>     Sometime it can be enlightening to review your very own documents.
>     I just had a look into our IRP charter and it clarified a number
>     of things:
>     a) steering committee members serve a one or two year term, so
>     we'll have to see who from the current (transition - remember the
>     merger) committee wants to stay on. Could the current members
>     please indicate whether they would continue or not?
>     b) the chair is elected/selected by the steering committee
>     quite a good charter by the way :-)
>     http://internetrightsandprinciples.org/node/9
>     So far the following folks have been nominated:
>     Lisa Horner  (accepted nomination)
>     Robert Brodle (accepted)
>     Matthias Ketteman     
>     Marianne Franklin (accepted nomination)
>     Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
>     Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
>     Max Senges (wants to see the coalition evolve and will not run for
>     chair)
>     Don't be shy nominate yourself or folks you believe will do a good
>     job!
>     I would like to add Mr. Lee Hibbart and Thomas Schneider to the
>     nominees
>     Best
>     Max
>     On Sun, Nov 8, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com
>     <mailto:maxsenges at gmail.com>> wrote:
>         Hello fellow IRPlers
>         As I have raised several times now, our Charter states that we
>         shall elect a new chair and steering committee every IGF, and
>         I would like to start the deliberations about the how / when
>         and who.
>         My suggestion would be that we use the time before and during
>         the IGF to identify good candidates and then hold the
>         elections right after. Ideally we would have had a elections
>         just before and a hand-over during the IGF and I apologize for
>         not organizing affairs in that way. Anyway, I think the above
>         process can work really well.
>         First of all I want to thank everybody who participated in the
>         steering committee so far. It has been a pleasure working with
>         you and I would recommend all of you as members of the new
>         steering group. So I suggest we consider everybody who is
>         currently on the steering committee as a nominee for next year
>         (I will check in with you individually whether you are still
>         available for the role).
>         To kick things off, I looked through our archives and would
>         like to nominate some colleagues who don't have a formal role
>         now, but have contributed substantially to the success of our
>         coalition:
>         Lisa Horner 
>         Robert Brodle
>         Matthias Ketteman     
>         Marianne Franklin
>         Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
>         Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
>         This list is really just meant to get us started, please
>         nominate people you think would be good custodians and drivers
>         of our coalition.
>         As for me, I will happily keep working in the coalition's
>         steering committee, should I receive sufficient support.
>         Looking forward to seeing this election unfold
>         Max

Mag. iur. Matthias C. Kettemann
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter | Teaching and Research Fellow

Institut f?r V?lkerrecht und Internationale Beziehungen
Karl-Franzens-Universit?t Graz
Institute of International Law and International Relations
University of Graz

Universit?tsstra?e 15/A4, 8010 Graz, Austria

T +43 316 380 6711 (office)
M +43 676 701 7175 (mobile)
F +43 316 380 9455 (fax)
E matthias.kettemann at uni-graz.at

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091112/4c093572/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list