[IRP] NOMINATIONS: 09 elections of IRP steering committee

Max Senges maxsenges
Wed Nov 11 21:20:26 EET 2009

@current Steering Committee members (besides Shaila) please indicate to me
whether you want to continue or not!

Hi everybody

I have just received a note that Lauren Movius is also interested to be a
candidate for the Steering Committee.

The #$%!& wiki has been hacked again.... So I have started a g-doc (which
all of you can add/edit) to keep track of all the candidates @

We have already 11 candidates now (not counting current committee members
who might also want to stay), so we might be able to do the hand-over during
the IGF....

Let's see how things unfold

On Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 11:42 AM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:

> Hi everybody
> Sometime it can be enlightening to review your very own documents. I just
> had a look into our IRP charter and it clarified a number of things:
> a) steering committee members serve a one or two year term, so we'll have
> to see who from the current (transition - remember the merger) committee
> wants to stay on. Could the current members please indicate whether they
> would continue or not?
> b) the chair is elected/selected by the steering committee
> quite a good charter by the way :-)
> http://internetrightsandprinciples.org/node/9
> So far the following folks have been nominated:
> Lisa Horner  (accepted nomination)
> Robert Brodle (accepted)
> Matthias Ketteman
> Marianne Franklin (accepted nomination)
> Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
> Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
> Max Senges (wants to see the coalition evolve and will not run for chair)
> Don't be shy nominate yourself or folks you believe will do a good job!
> I would like to add Mr. Lee Hibbart and Thomas Schneider to the nominees
> Best
> Max
> On Sun, Nov 8, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:
>> Hello fellow IRPlers
>> As I have raised several times now, our Charter states that we shall elect
>> a new chair and steering committee every IGF, and I would like to start the
>> deliberations about the how / when and who.
>> My suggestion would be that we use the time before and during the IGF to
>> identify good candidates and then hold the elections right after. Ideally we
>> would have had a elections just before and a hand-over during the IGF and I
>> apologize for not organizing affairs in that way. Anyway, I think the above
>> process can work really well.
>> First of all I want to thank everybody who participated in the steering
>> committee so far. It has been a pleasure working with you and I would
>> recommend all of you as members of the new steering group. So I suggest we
>> consider everybody who is currently on the steering committee as a nominee
>> for next year (I will check in with you individually whether you are still
>> available for the role).
>> To kick things off, I looked through our archives and would like to
>> nominate some colleagues who don't have a formal role now, but have
>> contributed substantially to the success of our coalition:
>> Lisa Horner
>> Robert Brodle
>> Matthias Ketteman
>> Marianne Franklin
>> Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
>> Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
>> This list is really just meant to get us started, please nominate people
>> you think would be good custodians and drivers of our coalition.
>> As for me, I will happily keep working in the coalition's steering
>> committee, should I receive sufficient support.
>> Looking forward to seeing this election unfold
>> Max
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091111/0d2bf2eb/attachment.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list