[IRP] outside the suez canal room @ 12.30

Lisa Horner lisa
Sun Nov 15 12:13:41 EET 2009

Could I make the suggestion that we meet and then go in search of food?!  I'm hungry!


From: irp-bounces at lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org on behalf of Max Senges
Sent: Sun 15/11/2009 10:02
To: irp
Subject: [IRP] outside the suez canal room @ 12.30

Hi everybody,

Sorry I misread the schedule. The session on a "open standard rights framework" runs till 13.00. So I will be in front of the suez canal room at 12.30 and meet and start to discuss with those interested. We can go into the room at 13.00.


2009/11/14 Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com>

	Hi everybody
	Just a reminder that we will meet tomorrow at 12.30 in Room 3: Suez Canal to coordinate our plans for the IGF, have some deliberations about how we should conduct the steering committee election.... and of course to have lunch and catch up
	Ok looking forward to meet you
	2009/11/11 Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com>

		Hi everybody
		Sometime it can be enlightening to review your very own documents. I just had a look into our IRP charter and it clarified a number of things:
		a) steering committee members serve a one or two year term, so we'll have to see who from the current (transition - remember the merger) committee wants to stay on. Could the current members please indicate whether they would continue or not?
		b) the chair is elected/selected by the steering committee 
		quite a good charter by the way :-) http://internetrightsandprinciples.org/node/9
		So far the following folks have been nominated:
		Lisa Horner  (accepted nomination)
		Robert Brodle 
		Matthias Ketteman      
		Marianne Franklin (accepted nomination)
		Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
		Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
		Max Senges (wants to see the coalition evolve and will not run for chair)
		Don't be shy nominate yourself or folks you believe will do a good job!
		I would like to add Mr. Lee Hibbart and Thomas Schneider to the nominees
		On Sun, Nov 8, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:

			Hello fellow IRPlers
			As I have raised several times now, our Charter states that we shall elect a new chair and steering committee every IGF, and I would like to start the deliberations about the how / when and who.
			My suggestion would be that we use the time before and during the IGF to identify good candidates and then hold the elections right after. Ideally we would have had a elections just before and a hand-over during the IGF and I apologize for not organizing affairs in that way. Anyway, I think the above process can work really well. 
			First of all I want to thank everybody who participated in the steering committee so far. It has been a pleasure working with you and I would recommend all of you as members of the new steering group. So I suggest we consider everybody who is currently on the steering committee as a nominee for next year (I will check in with you individually whether you are still available for the role). 
			To kick things off, I looked through our archives and would like to nominate some colleagues who don't have a formal role now, but have contributed substantially to the success of our coalition:
			Lisa Horner  
			Robert Brodle 
			Matthias Ketteman      
			Marianne Franklin
			Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
			Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
			This list is really just meant to get us started, please nominate people you think would be good custodians and drivers of our coalition.
			As for me, I will happily keep working in the coalition's steering committee, should I receive sufficient support.
			Looking forward to seeing this election unfold

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091115/061be90c/attachment.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list