[IRP] NOMINATIONS: 09 elections of IRP steering committee

Max Senges maxsenges
Wed Nov 11 12:42:15 EET 2009

Hi everybody

Sometime it can be enlightening to review your very own documents. I just
had a look into our IRP charter and it clarified a number of things:

a) steering committee members serve a one or two year term, so we'll have to
see who from the current (transition - remember the merger) committee wants
to stay on. Could the current members please indicate whether they would
continue or not?

b) the chair is elected/selected by the steering committee

quite a good charter by the way :-)

So far the following folks have been nominated:

Lisa Horner  (accepted nomination)
Robert Brodle
Matthias Ketteman
Marianne Franklin (accepted nomination)
Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
Max Senges (wants to see the coalition evolve and will not run for chair)

Don't be shy nominate yourself or folks you believe will do a good job!

I would like to add Mr. Lee Hibbart and Thomas Schneider to the nominees


On Sun, Nov 8, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Max Senges <maxsenges at gmail.com> wrote:

> Hello fellow IRPlers
> As I have raised several times now, our Charter states that we shall elect
> a new chair and steering committee every IGF, and I would like to start the
> deliberations about the how / when and who.
> My suggestion would be that we use the time before and during the IGF to
> identify good candidates and then hold the elections right after. Ideally we
> would have had a elections just before and a hand-over during the IGF and I
> apologize for not organizing affairs in that way. Anyway, I think the above
> process can work really well.
> First of all I want to thank everybody who participated in the steering
> committee so far. It has been a pleasure working with you and I would
> recommend all of you as members of the new steering group. So I suggest we
> consider everybody who is currently on the steering committee as a nominee
> for next year (I will check in with you individually whether you are still
> available for the role).
> To kick things off, I looked through our archives and would like to
> nominate some colleagues who don't have a formal role now, but have
> contributed substantially to the success of our coalition:
> Lisa Horner
> Robert Brodle
> Matthias Ketteman
> Marianne Franklin
> Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond
> Anja Kovacs (in her new role at CIS)
> This list is really just meant to get us started, please nominate people
> you think would be good custodians and drivers of our coalition.
> As for me, I will happily keep working in the coalition's steering
> committee, should I receive sufficient support.
> Looking forward to seeing this election unfold
> Max
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091111/ea351aec/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list