[IRP] IRP-DC elections results

Sivasubramanian Muthusamy isolatedn
Sun Dec 20 21:46:21 EET 2009

Congratulations to the candidates elected to the IRP steering committee and
wishes for a productive term of office.

Happy Holidays.

Sivasubramanian Muthusamy

Blog: http://isocmadras.blogspot.com
facebook: http://is.gd/x8Sh
LinkedIn: http://is.gd/x8U6
Twitter: http://is.gd/x8Vz

On Sat, Dec 19, 2009 at 9:58 AM, Biel Company Perez <bcompanyp at uoc.edu>wrote:

> Dear IRP-DC members,
> I am pleased to announce that the following candidates have been elected
> for the IRP-DC Steering Committee:
>    - Academy (44 participants):
>       - Carlos Alfonso Pereira de Souza (25 votes)
>       - Rafik Dammak (18 votes)
>       - Robert Bodle (18 votes)
>       - Marianne Franklin (18 votes)
>     - Civil Society (44 participants)
>       - Anja Kovacs (29 votes)
>       - Robert Guerra (21 votes)
>       - Graciela Selaiman (20 votes)
>     - Governmental institutions (38 participants)
>       - Lee Hibbard (28 votes)
>       - Andrea Becalli (22 votes)
>       - Johan Hallenborg (14 votes)
>     - Private Sector (44 participants)
>       - Lisa Horner (37 votes)
>       - Max Senges (32 votes)
>       - Shaila Rao Mistry (16 votes)
>       - Olivier JM Cr?pin-Leblond (16 votes)
> As you see, the election has ended in a tie among several members within
> the academic and private sectors. Although this situation is not regulated
> in the procedures for this electoral process, such regulations do say that
> the Steering Committee may be ?no more than 15? members. A simple criterion
> that is compatible with this limitation and that does not make it necessary
> to organize a second electoral round is to appoint the 3 most voted
> candidates within each stakeholder group, but allowing more than 3
> appointments per stakeholder group if there are several candidates in tie.
> The 14 member Steering Committee above results from applying this criterion.
> As a summarized election report, one problem for which I am entirely
> responsible and sincerely apologize needs to be explained here. One of the
> candidates, Heike Jensen, did not appear on the ballot list during the
> first two days of the voting period. Although she did appear as a
> candidate and her profile and electoral program were available in the Google
> spreadsheet from the opening of the online ballots, her name wasn?t added to
> the ballot?s candidate list until December 4th, as soon as we were
> informed of the error. In order to guarantee that this had not deprived the
> candidate from any votes and that every IRP-DC member wishing to vote for
> her had the possibility to do so, the 23 IRP-DC members who had already
> voted by the time the ballot was amended were sent an email giving them the
> possibility to modify only one of their votes within the academic sector and
> only in favor of Heike Jensen. Two members expressed their wish to modify
> their votes, but neither of them could specify with certainty the candidates
> they had elected, so no vote modifications were finally made. In view of the
> final results within the academic sector, however, such arrangements would
> not have altered the composition of the Steering Committee.
> I would like to give special thanks to Prof. Derrick Cogburn, who provided
> and managed the online voting system and whose contribution was essential
> for sorting out problems as they emerged. Thanks also to Max Senges for his
> support and counsel during the process, and to all of you for your
> participation. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you be interested
> in having any further details of the process.
> Best,
> Biel Company P?rez
> IRPDC Steering Committee elections officer
> Internet Interdisciplinary Institute (IN3)
> Open University of Catalonia, Barcelona.
> Tel.: (+34) 93 673 50 82
> bcompanyp at uoc.edu
> _______________________________________________
> IRP mailing list
> IRP at lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org
> http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/listinfo.cgi/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.internetrightsandprinciples.org/pipermail/irp-internetrightsandprinciples.org/attachments/20091221/e08db9f3/attachment.htm>

More information about the IRP mailing list